Acknowledgements

This first publication from the SLICE group (Standard Language Ideology in Contemporary Europe) and in its book series has only been possible as a result of much interest and support – which we wish to acknowledge here.

The initiative towards the SLICE programme was taken at the LANCHART centre (dgcss.hum.ku.dk). The idea was discussed with members of LANCHART's International Council at the centre's annual meeting with the council in 2008, involving Peter Auer, Nikolas Coupland, Paul Kerswill, Dennis R. Preston, Mats Thelander, and Helge Sandøy – as well as Peter Garrett as a specially invited 'sparring partner'. Subsequently, a proposal for a series of Exploratory Workshops was worked out at LANCHART by Frans Gregersen, Tore Kristiansen, Shaun Nolan, and Jacob Thøgersen.

This volume results from two Exploratory Workshops which were held in Copenhagen, Denmark in February and August of 2009. These workshops, which were the beginnings of SLICE, were financed by the Nordic Research Foundation for the Human and Social Sciences, NOS-HS. They took place at Schæffergården, with financial support also from the Foundation for Danish-Norwegian Cooperation. We thank both foundations for their support.

The principal applicant for the Exploratory Workshops was Tore Kristiansen (Copenhagen), and he thanks his co-applicants Kristján Árnason (Reykjavík), Frans Gregersen (Copenhagen), Pirkko Nuolijärvi (Helsinki), Helge Sandøy (Bergen), Mats Thelander (Uppsala), and Jan-Ola Östman (Helsingfors).

All participants were specially invited and made significant contributions to the work of the Exploratory Workshops. The participants – representing the following speech communities (in alphabetic order) – were: *Denmark*: Frans Gregersen, Tore Kristiansen, Marie Maegaard, Janus Møller, Nicolai Pharao, Pia Quist, Jacob Thøgersen; *Finnish-speaking Finland*: Pirkko Nuolijärvi, Johanna Vaattovaara; *France*: Jean-Michel Eloy, Anita B. Hansen, Shaun Nolan; *Germany*: Peter Auer, Philipp Stoeckle, Christoph Hare Svenstrup; *Iceland*: Kristján Árnason, Stephen Pax Leonard; *Irish-speaking Ireland*: Tadhg Ó hIfearnáin, Noel Ó Murchadha; *The Netherlands*: Stefan Grondelaers, Sander van der Harst, Roeland van Hout; *Norway*: Ragnhild Anderson, Brit Mæhlum, Unn Røyneland, Helge Sandøy; *Sweden*: Mats Thelander, Lena Wenner; *Swedish-speaking Finland*: Marie Sund, Jan-Ola Östman; *UK*: Justine Coupland, Nikolas Coupland, Peter Garrett, Janus Mortensen, Elen Robert, Charlotte Selleck; *USA*: Dennis R. Preston.